skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

Leaving Cambridge? Your Microsoft account will soon be closed – move it or lose it!

last modified Jun 11, 2018 01:21 PM
If you will be leaving Cambridge at the end of this term, you need to take action now so that you won’t lose access to the data associated with your University of Cambridge Microsoft Account. This includes Office 365 apps, OneDrive and Exchange Online email.

IMPORTANT: this process is independent of the closure of your other UIS computing accounts (e.g. Hermes and Desktop Services).

Once our administration systems no longer have you marked as an active University member, your University Microsoft Account will be marked for closure and you will have 30 days read-only access to so that you can move you data somewhere else.

After the 30 days, you will be locked out of your Microsoft account and will lose access to your data.

Under some circumstances it may be possible for the UIS Service Desk staff to recover some of your data after this time, however this is neither easy nor guaranteed, so please do not depend upon it.

For more information about the account closure process and some suggestions for alternative data storage options, see:

What happens to my University Microsoft account when I leave Cambridge?

Queries should be addressed to the UIS Service Desk at service-desk@uis.cam.ac.uk

 

Phone transparent  Service status line: (01223) 463085
Website transparent  Sign up for SMS/email status alerts

Getting help


UIS Service Desk
General support queries

  Phone transparent  (01223 7) 62999

UAS Service Desk
Administrative staff queries

  Phone transparent  (01223 3) 32999


Other IT service desks